Kasule Lumumba congratulates new Butebo district chairperson
Keddi of NRM won the seat

After several losses in different by election held around Uganda, The National Resistance Movement (NRM) party has emerged victors that the recently concluded elections in Butebo district. Samuel Keddi has won elections for District Chairperson in the newly created Butebo District.

Samuel Keddi received 17,554 (64.2%) votes against Independent candidate James Okurut’s 9,765 (35.7%) from 83 polling stations.

Keddi was declared the winner by Butebo District Returning Officer, Rashid Musinguzi at 11:29pm last night in an election where the opposition fielded no candidate.
“Butebo election has widely exposed Uganda’s political opposition as unpopular, residents here (Butebo) declined to carry their flags and therefore failed to field a candidate against NRM in this district race,” said Rogers Mulindwa, the NRM Communications Officer in a statement on today.

NRM’s Samuel Keddi wins Butebo district chairman election
NRM was only opposed by am independent

According to Mulindwa, Butebo is the 10th LCV seat won by the NRM since July 2016. Others are Pakwach, Namisindwa, Kalungu, Kyotera, Kakumiro, Kagadi, Rukiga, Rubanda, Bunyangabo, and Namisindwa. The NRM lost Omoro to an Independent candidate.

The new Butebo Chairman, Samuel Keddi pledged unity in his victory statement.
The NRM Secretary General, Justine Kasule Lumumba congratulated the people of Butebo for the“peaceful and focused electoral exercise” and commended the NRM Secretariat team led by the Deputy National Treasurer Dr. Kenneth Omona for “coordination on the ground and effective vote management.”

We shall keep you posted here at Flash Uganda media.