FIFA Men's Player of the Year
10 players are in contention for the Men's Player of the Year

10 players are in contention for the Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and more.

Liverpool’s Champions League-winning trio of Mohamed Salah, Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane have joined regulars Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi on the shortlist for the Fifa Men’s Player of the Year award.

Harry Kane, Kylian Mbappe, Eden Hazard and Dutch duo Matthijs de Ligt and Frenkie de Jong have also made the shortlist.

Salah and Mane shared the Premier League Golden Boot – with Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – each of them scored 22 goals.

For Lionel Messi, he was the leading scorer in both La Liga (36 goals) and the Champions League (12 goals) last season.

Meanwhile, centre-back Van Dijk was voted both the Premier League Player of the Season and the Players’ Men’s Player of the Year, and also played an instrumental role in seeing his club, Liverpool wins their sixth Champions League trophy.

While Cristiano Ronaldo won Italy’s Serie A title in his debut season with Juventus and was also voted the league’s most valuable player. He also led Portugal to the inaugural Uefa Nations League title last month.

Appropriately, the remaining five candidates for this award- Eden hazard, Matthijs de Ligt, Frenkie de Jong, Harry Kane and Kylian Mbappe also played vital roles for their club’s last season.

READ  Joseph Kabila: I will not stand for president again

For the men’s coach of the year, award shortlists, Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool) and domestic treble winner Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), alongside Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham), head the nominees.

Portuguese coach Fernando Santos, Brazil’s Tite, who led his side to the Copa America title, an Africa Cup of Nations winner Djamel Belmadi of Algeria are also part of the group.


For the women, US World Cup winners Megan Rapinoe, who won the top scorer’s Golden Boot and Golden Ball for the best player at the tournament, Alex Morgan and Julie Ertz have been nominated for the best women’s player award along with last year’s Ballon d’Or winner Ada Hegerberg.

Hegerberg’s treble-winning Olympique Lyonnais teammates Lucy Bronze, Amandine Henry and Wendie Renard have also cut.

US women’s national team coach Jill Ellis, who led her side to their fourth World Cup title earlier this month, heads the list of nominees for the best women’s team coach.

She is joined by Lyon’s treble-winning coach Reynald Pedros, Sarina Wiegman, who led the Netherlands to their first-ever World Cup final, and Joe Montemurro who led Arsenal to the FA Women’s Super League title.

The three finalists for each award will be revealed at a later date, with the winners to be announced in a ceremony in Milan on September 23.

READ  Uganda to compensate Rubirizi fuel tanker Victims, Shs5m to each family

Men’s Player of the Year

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal & Juventus)
  • Frenkie de Jong (Holland & Barcelona – signed from Ajax)
  • Matthijs de Ligt (Holland & Juventus – signed from Ajax)
  • Harry Kane (England & Tottenham)
  • Eden Hazard (Belgium & Real Madrid – signed from Chelsea)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  • Kylian Mbappe (France & PSG)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina & Barcelona)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  • Virgil van Dijk (Holland & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year

  • Lucy Bronze (England & Lyon)
  • Julie Ertz (USA & Chicago Red Stars)
  • Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway & Wolfsburg)
  • Ada Hegerberg (Norway & Lyon)
  • Amandine Henry (France & Lyon)
  • Sam Kerr (Australia & Chicago Red Stars)
  • Rose Lavelle (USA & Washington Spirit)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands & Arsenal)
  • Alex Morgan (USA & Orlando Pride)
  • Megan Rapinoe (USA & Reign FC)
  • Wendie Renard (France & Lyon)
  • Ellen White (England & Man City)

By John Dalton Kigozi