Pilsner Super 8 Vipers fc beat Mbarara City
Pilsner Super 8: Vipers advance to the final after a 5-3 win over Mbarara City in penalty shoot outs

Vipers SC has advanced to the final of the 2019 Pilsner Super 8 tournament after claiming a 5-3 win over Mbarara City in penalty shoot outs.

In a tight game played on Friday 9th August at the St Mary’s Stadium in Kitende, Vipers FC edged Mbarara City to book a place in the final of the tournament’s second edition.

After playing to a 1-1 all draw, the final result of the match was left for the penalty spot kicks to decide.

Brian Aheebwa had given the Ankole Lions a late lead in the 77th minute of the game before substitute Tito Okello levelled matters for Vipers a minute later.

This hard-fought win cemented a place in the final for the Entebbe based side meaning that they will verse the winner of the other semi-final between KCCA FC and Onduparaka.

Meanwhile, Mbarara City will also be looking to secure a third-place finish when they take on the loser in the second semi-final.

The tournament format

Pilsner Super 8 is a tournament contested for by eight teams – It is an annual tournament played before the start of the Startimes Uganda Premier League.

The top six ranked teams from the previous season of the 1st Division League (Uganda Premier League) 2017/18 season qualify to participate in the tournament together with the top two ranked teams from the previous season of the 2nd Division League (FUFA Big League).

No registration fee is required to participate in this tournament.

The winners of the four first-round games will face off in the semifinals with the victors in the respective semis, going on to play the final.

Likewise, for the losers in the first round, they face off in the semis before the respective victors lock horns in the placement final.

At the end of the tournament, the teams will be ranked from 1-8.

The prize money

For this year’s tournament, It was revealed that the Pilsner Super 8 prize money has been more than doubled from UGX 30m to UGX 68m.

The 68m will be shared by the respective teams as per their final positions with the winner walking away with UGX 20m, runners ups UGX 12m, third place UGX 10m and the fourth UGX 8m. The fifth to eighth-ranked teams will get UGX 6m, UGX 5m, UGX 4m and UGX 3m, respectively.

Meanwhile, this year’s tournament will end on August 24th.

By John Dalton Kigozi