Eddy Kenzo Chased From Radio Station Over People Power
Eddy Kenzo leads HiPipo nomination list with 10 nods

Eddy Kenzo leads the nomination list with 10 nods, closely followed by Sheebah, John Blaq, Spice Diana and Fik Fameica

HiPipo and its partners will present the prestigious 9th HiPipo Music Awards on Saturday 14th March 2020 live from Victoria Hall of Kampala Serena Hotel. The gala-night will be preceded by a special red-carpet event.

Eddy Kenzo leads the 2020 HiPipo Music Awards nomination list with 10 nods, closely followed by Sheebah, John Blaq, Spice Diana and Fik Fameica.

Big Tril’s sell-out hit Parte after Parte is in contention to win Uganda song of the year, East Africa super Hit and Africa song of the Year.

Full list of winners at 6th HiPipo music awards.

Music fans are free to cast their votes for their favourite acts and artists via social media and at the HiPipo Music Awards website until 14th March 2020

“The music assembly has done its part. The acts and artists befitting of a nomination are those that are shortlisted. In our case, befitting means those that meet the HiPipo Music Awards nomination criteria which is available for everyone via the project website. All nominees are

Africa Number 1

  1. Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  2. Davido (Nigeria)
  3. Diamond Platinumz (Tanzania)
  4. Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)
  5. Fally Ipupa (DRC)
  6. Maître Gims (DRC)
  7. Mohamed Ramadan (Egypt)
  8. Sherine (Egypt)
  9. Soolking (Algeria)
READ  Buganda NRM Parliamentary caucus formed in Kyankwanzi

Africa song of the year

  1. Big Tril – Parte after parte (Uganda)
  2. Burna Boy ft Zlatan – Killin Dem (Nigeria)
  3. Davido, Chris Brown – Blow My Mind (Nigeria)
  4. Diamond Platnumz ft Fally Ipupa – Inama (Tanzania/DRC)
  5. Joeboy – Baby (Nigeria)
  6. Mohamed Ramadan – Mafia (Egypt)
  7. Nasty C – SMA ft Rowlene (South Africa)
  8. Soolking feat. Ouled El Bahdja – Liberte (Algeria)
  9. Wizkid – Joro (Nigeria)

Africa Fans Favorite Fresh Talent

  1. Innoss’B (DRC)
  2. Joeboy (Nigeria)
  3. Mbosso (Tanzania)
  4. Natacha(Burundi)
  5. Nviiri The Storyteller (Kenya)
  6. Rosa Ree (Tanzania)
  7. Sho Madiozi (South Africa)
  8. Simmy (South Africa)
  9. Teni (Nigeria)
  10. Vinka (Uganda)

East Africa Super Hit

  1. Big Tril – Parte after Parte (Uganda)
  2. Deejay Pius – HOMBA HOMBOKA (High Heels ) (Rwanda)
  3. Diamond Platnumz – The One (Tanzania)
  4. Harmonize ‘Uno’ (Tanzania)
  5. Rayvanny ft Diamond Platnumz – Tetema (Tanzania)
  6. Sailors – Wamlambez (Kenya)
  7. Sauti Sol ‘Extravaganza’ Feat. Bensoul, Nviiri, Crystal Asige & Kaskazini (Kenya)
  8. The Ben – Vazi (Rwanda)
  9. Vanessa Mdee – That’s For Me ft Distuction Boyz, Dj Tira , Prince Bulo (Tanzania)
  10. Willy Paul ft Ravyvanny – Mmmh (Kenya)


Artist of the year

  1. Spice Diana
  2. Sheebah
  3. John Blaq
  4. Fik Fameica
  5. Eddy Kenzo
  6. David Lutalo

Best Female Artist

  1. Winnie Nwagi
  2. Vinka
  3. Spice Diana
  4. Sheebah

Best Male Artist

  1. John Blaq
  2. Fik Fameica
  3. Eddy Kenzo
  4. David Lutalo
  5. Song of the year
  6. B2C & Rema – Gutujja
  7. Big Tril – Parte after parte
  8. Eddy Kenzo – Semeyekozo
  9. John Blaq – Do Dat
  10. Rickman ft Dt Timo – Bango
  11. Sheebah ft Carol Nantongo – Sirwana
READ  Ministry of Health introduces Self-Help Code for COVID-19 (*260#)

Written Record of the year

  1. Ronnie and Alexander Muge writer for Enyanda (Sheebah)
  2. David Lutalo writer for Tugende
  3. John Blaq writer for Makanika
  4. Kapa Cat writer for Sikyo
  5. Spice Diana & Ray G writer for Omusheshe
  6. Shena Skies writer for Sunday (Slick Stuart, DJ Roja)

More of the categories can be found on the HiPipo Music Awards website